Steffens Scleroderma Foundation Board


Medical Leadership

Lee Shapiro, MD, Chief Medical Officer

Dr. Shapiro, a prominent rheumatologist, plays a leading role in the foundation as its Chief Medical Officer. Dr. Shapiro is a clinical professor at Albany Medical College, where his research focuses on vascular aspects of scleroderma, Degos disease, calcinosis and related disorders. In addition, Dr. Shapiro serves on the Medical Advisory Board of the Scleroderma Foundation’s Tristate Chapter. Dr. Shapiro has been honored for his tireless advocacy and compassionate treatment of patients affected by scleroderma and Degos disease. His accolades include being named the National Scleroderma Doctor of the Year by the National Scleroderma Foundation and receiving the Distinguished Physician Lifetime Achievement Award in 2007.

Jessica Farrell, PharmD, Associate Medical Officer

Dr. Farrell, the foundation’s Associate Medical Director, is a member of the medical and scientific advisory board of the national Scleroderma Foundation, as well as an associate professor at Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences. Dr. Farrell’s teaching and research activities focus on drug therapy in autoimmune diseases including rheumatoid arthritis, scleroderma, and systemic lupus erythematosus. She particularly values time spent in one-on-one medication counseling with patients. In 2019, Dr. Farrell was honored as the National Scleroderma Foundation’s Doctor of the Year.

Board of Directors
The Steffens Scleroderma Foundation is governed by a talented and dedicated volunteer board of directors.

Executive Committee & Officers
Ernie DuPont
President, Executive Committee Chair

Linda Meenan
Vice President, Executive Committee Member
Calra Gage
Treasurer, Executive Committee Member 

Sue DuPont

Celeste Freeman, OTR/L,CHT
Executive Committee Member

Patricia Clausi
Jennifer Hoffman
Donna Langdon
Peter Meenan
Jenny Sparano
Rosemarie Van Patten

In Memoriam
Lou Renna